Commodore's Ball



The Commodore's Ball and Presentation night was a glamorous and fun affair. Those who attended were treated to a sumptuous seafood entree, followed by a magnificent banquet.

This is the night where the club thanks and pays tribute to the sailors for their efforts throughout the year, and is a much anticipated night with recipients of Club Champion, Twilight Champion, Sailor of the Year, Yachtsperson of the Year and Club Member of the Year being announced, as well as a plethora of other trophies and awards.

 This year, the Junior Off Beach sailors held their presentation night at the start, and off shore sailors were there to congratulate the youth that will be the club's future. Of special note were Klaus and Eva Lorenz and Hamish Swain for their outstanding achievements this year.

Immediate past Commodore, Kevin Fogarty, presented two new trophies to the club. The Twister trophy for the winners of the Off Shore Series and the very special Vicky Millar Trophy in honour of our one and only Lady Skipper. Kevin's past efforts and passion for the club and sailing were recognised with a presentation of a watch, engraved simply with "Thank You".

The big winners on the night were Peter Millar, Kevin Fogarty and Rob Davis, who collected the majority of the trophies in their divisions - taking out Club Champions, Off Shore Series Champions, Winter and Summer Series Champions to name a few. 

Kathryn Galloway and Tania Watson were honoured by being the first Lady Skipper champions to be engraved on the Vicky Millar Trophy - a special honour indeed.

Sailor of the Year was awarded to Kevin Fogarty for his triumphs throughout the year and Paul Mitchell received the Yachtsperson of the Year for his success in off beach dinghy sailing across the country. This year, a new award for Club Member of the Year was introduced and it overwhelmingly was awarded to Murray Sanders for his years of dedication both on and off the water.

Everyone agreed, it had been an exceptional night and the staff had outdone themselves.